Make a Donation Tell a Friend


Contact: Kate Geller, (202) 785-8683 or

League of Conservation Voters Recent Press Releases RSS Feed

LCV Names Christine O’Donnell to the 2010 Dirty Dozen

WASHINGTON, DC – Today, the League of Conservation Voters (LCV), which works to turn environmental values into national priorities, announced the addition of Christine O’Donnell (DE-Sen) to the 2010 Dirty Dozen list. O’Donnell vehemently opposes comprehensive clean energy and climate legislation and has deemed urgent action on climate unnecessary.


“Christine O’Donnell has been parroting the lies and misinformation of corporate polluters and as Senator would side with Big Oil over Delaware families at every opportunity,” said Tony Massaro, LCV Senior Vice President for Political Affairs. “Her extremist views on climate change put her far outside the mainstream, while her support for the failed energy policies of the past make her unfit for the U.S. Senate.”


O’Donnell prioritizes expanding the failed dirty energy policies of the past over growing Delaware's clean energy economy. [1] With regards to comprehensive clean energy and climate legislation, she has said “In this race, I am the only candidate who has pledged to not only vote against it but advocate against it.” [2]


“Instead of promising to fight to ensure Delaware leads in the creation of the 21st century’s clean energy economy, O’Donnell is running for Senate to block a comprehensive clean energy and climate bill that creates jobs, reduces carbon pollution and increases energy independence,” said Massaro.


LCV's trademark Dirty Dozen program targets candidates for Congress — regardless of party affiliation — who consistently vote against clean energy and conservation and are running in races in which LCV has a serious chance to affect the outcome. Since 1996, more than 60 percent of the Dirty Dozen have been defeated.


Senate candidates Blanche Lincoln (D-AR), Roy Blunt (R-MO), Pat Toomey (R-PA), Sharron Angle (R-NV), Ron Johnson (R-WI), Ken Buck (R-CO) and Carly Fiorina (R-CA) and House candidates Michelle Bachmann (R- MN), Tim Walberg (R-MI) and Steve Pearce (R-NM) are currently on the 2010 Dirty Dozen list. Former Congressman Richard Pombo (R-CA) was the first candidate to be defeated of the 2010 Dirty Dozen. Learn more at


# # #

Paid for by the League of Conservation Voters,, and not authorized by any candidate or candidate’s committee.