Make a Donation Tell a Friend


Contact: Kate Geller, (202) 785-8683 or

League of Conservation Voters Recent Press Releases RSS Feed

LCV Names Ken Buck to the 2010 Dirty Dozen

WASHINGTON, DC – Today, the League of Conservation Voters (LCV), which works to turn environmental values into national priorities, announced the addition of Ken Buck (CO-Sen) to the 2010 Dirty Dozen list. Buck vehemently opposes comprehensive clean energy and climate legislation and denies the sound and settled science of global warming.


“Ken Buck has been parroting the lies and misinformation of corporate polluters and as Senator would side with Big Oil over Colorado families at every opportunity,” said Tony Massaro, LCV Senior Vice President for Political Affairs. “His extremist views on climate change put him far outside the mainstream, while his support for the failed energy polices of the past make him unfit for the U.S. Senate.”


Ken Buck prioritizes expanding on the dirty energy policies of the past over moving Colorado’s growing clean energy economy forward. [1] Buck has said “While I think the earth is warming, I don't think that man-made causes are the primary factor. I am one of those people that Al Gore refers to as a skeptic.”[2]


Buck is also featured in a new video at, which provides more information on the extreme views of many Republican Senate candidates.


LCV's trademark Dirty Dozen program targets candidates for Congress — regardless of party affiliation — who consistently vote against clean energy and conservation and are running in races in which LCV has a serious chance to affect the outcome. Since 1996, more than 60 percent of the Dirty Dozen have been defeated.


Senate candidates Blanche Lincoln (D-AR), Roy Blunt (R-MO), Pat Toomey (R-PA) and Carly Fiorina (R-CA) and House candidates Michelle Bachmann (R- MN), Tim Walberg (R-MI) and Steve Pearce (R-NM) are currently on the 2010 Dirty Dozen list. Former Congressman Richard Pombo (R-CA) was the first candidate to be defeated of the 2010 Dirty Dozen. Learn more at


# # #

Paid for by the League of Conservation Voters,, and not authorized by any candidate or candidate’s committee.