Make a Donation Tell a Friend


Contact: Kate Geller, (202) 785-8683 or

League of Conservation Voters Recent Press Releases RSS Feed

LCV Names Sharron Angle to the 2010 Dirty Dozen

WASHINGTON, DC – Today, the League of Conservation Voters (LCV), which works to turn environmental values into national priorities, announced the addition of Sharron Angle (NV-Sen) to the 2010 Dirty Dozen list. Angle vehemently opposes comprehensive clean energy and climate legislation and denies the sound and settled science of global warming.


 “Sharron Angle would prefer to stifle Nevada’s cutting-edge clean energy economy rather than promote policies that would create jobs and increase investments in the state’s already prosperous renewable industries,” said Tony Massaro, LCV Senior Vice President for Political Affairs. “Her extremist views on climate change put her far outside the mainstream, while her support for the failed energy polices of the past make her unfit for the U.S. Senate.”


During her campaign for the U.S. Senate, Sharron Angle has called for the elimination of the Environmental Protection Agency and referred to the BP escrow account as a “Slush Fund”. [1] As a member of the Nevada State Assembly, Angle received dismal environmental scores of 17% in 2003 and 14% in 2005 from the Nevada Conservation League. [2] She also supports the permanent storage of highly radioactive nuclear waste from across the nation in Yucca Mountain, though she has called for the abolishment of the Department of Energy which would oversee such a project.[3] Angle has said “I don't, however, buy into the whole ... man-caused global warming, man-caused climate change mantra of the left. I believe that there's not sound science to back that up.”[4]


Angle is also featured in a new video at, which provides more information on the extreme views of many Republican Senate candidates.


LCV's trademark Dirty Dozen program targets candidates for Congress — regardless of party affiliation — who consistently vote against clean energy and conservation and are running in races in which LCV has a serious chance to affect the outcome. Since 1996, more than 60 percent of the Dirty Dozen have been defeated.


Senate candidates Blanche Lincoln (D-AR), Roy Blunt (R-MO), Pat Toomey (R-PA) and Carly Fiorina (R-CA) and House candidates Michelle Bachmann (R- MN), Tim Walberg (R-MI) and Steve Pearce (R-NM) are currently on the 2010 Dirty Dozen list. Former Congressman Richard Pombo (R-CA) was the first candidate to be defeated of the 2010 Dirty Dozen. Learn more at


# # #

Paid for by the League of Conservation Voters,, and not authorized by any candidate or candidate’s committee.



[2] Nevada Conservation League Scorecard