Make a Donation Tell a Friend


Contact: Kate Geller, (202) 785-8683 or

League of Conservation Voters Recent Press Releases RSS Feed

LCV Names Tim Walberg to the Dirty Dozen...Again

WASHINGTON, DC – Today, the League of Conservation Voters (LCV), which works to turn environmental values into national priorities, announced that former Rep. Tim Walberg has been named to the 2010 Dirty Dozen list. Walberg is challenging Congressman Mark Schauer in an effort to win back Michigan’s 7th district. He was named to LCV’s 2008 "Dirty Dozen" list and was subsequently defeated. Walberg opposed every major clean energy reform in Congress in 2008, earning a 0% LCV score.*


“Two dismal years in Congress was proof enough that Tim Walberg will do nothing to create clean energy jobs for Michigan workers or protect national treasures like the Great Lakes,” said Tony Massaro, LCV Senior Vice President for Political Affairs. “While Congressman Schauer has fought to ensure that Michigan leads in the creation of the 21st century’s clean energy economy, Walberg seeks a return to Congress to block progress on energy reform and keep our country hooked on the failed energy policies of the past.”


During his tenure, Walberg voted against repealing tax breaks to Big Oil, against increasing the use of renewable electricity and against efforts to help American drivers go further on a gallon of gas.  Walberg also opposed extending tax incentives to clean energy which would lead to thousands of new jobs in Michigan. Walberg’s lifetime LCV score is a dismal 5%. During his two years in office, he was on the wrong side of conservation and clean energy on 32 out of 33 votes. He even voted against the No Child Left Inside Act, designed to help educate children about the natural environment. 


“Tim Walberg is drastically out of step with the Michigan businesses, veterans and workers that are all calling for a clean energy economy and greater energy independence,” said Massaro. 


LCV's trademark Dirty Dozen program targets candidates for Congress — regardless of party affiliation — who consistently vote against clean energy and conservation and are running in races in which LCV has a serious chance to affect the outcome. Since 1996, more than 60 percent of the Dirty Dozen have been defeated.


Senate candidates Blanche Lincoln (D-AR), Roy Blunt (R-MO), Pat Toomey (R-PA)  and Carly Fiorina (R-CA) and House candidates Michelle Bachmann (R- MN) and Steve Pearce (R-NM) are currently on the 2010 Dirty Dozen list. Former Congressman Richard Pombo (R-CA) was the first candidate to be defeated of the 2010 Dirty Dozen. Learn more at


# # #

Paid for by the League of Conservation Voters,, and not authorized by any candidate or candidate’s committee.


*The non-partisan LCV Scorecard is a nationally accepted yardstick used to rate Members of Congress on clean energy, public health and environmental issues. Based on key conservation votes in the House and Senate, it is often used by the media to quickly describe a Member’s position.  For more information, visit